ThinwedgeFirst report 3 October 2026

Deciding what to build next? Start where the vendor can’t fight back.

Thinwedge mines app-marketplace reviews across whole categories and turns the sweep into a ten-minute read. It finds customers who are already paying and already complaining, and shows you exactly what they said.

Two cards, worked by hand from public pages on 13 September 2026.

Found on the pricing page

PandaDoc

Document automation and e-signature. pandadoc.com. Read 13 September 2026.

On Business and Enterprise, PandaDoc’s included document credits stop after a customer’s first year, and documents past them are charged one at a time.

  • “They now require an additional USD 2 for every document I generate automatically via Make.com, which was previously included in my subscription.”

    1★ review, Trustpilot, 24 Jul 2026

  • 24% of its 688 Trustpilot reviews are one star, and Trustpilot says it hasn’t replied to negative reviews.

    trustpilot.com, read 13 Sep 2026

  • A flat-price rival already exists: Documenso, $250 a month for unlimited users and documents.

    documenso.com, read 13 Sep 2026

Open all seven sections

1. What it does

“A leading document automation software platform that empowers professional teams to simplify and automate the creation, management, and signing of critical business documents.” Proposals, e-signature, CPQ, forms, an API. Investors named first by the vendor: OMERS Growth Equity, then HubSpot. Claims “over 56,000 customers”.

PandaDoc press boilerplate, 16 Sep 2025, as syndicated. Founding year conflicts: vendor says 2013, Wikipedia says 2011 as Quote Roller, and the App Store developer of record is still “Quote Roller Inc.” Not resolved.

2. Price as published

Free eSign$060 documents a year
Starter$19 per seat a month, annual$35 monthlyAdditional documents $2.00 each on annual, $3.50 on monthly.
Business$49 per seat a month, annual$65 monthlyAdditional documents $2.60 each on monthly; the annual rate is not stated on the page.
Enterprise“Let’s talk”“Per-seat or per-document pricing”
Usage creditsBusiness and Enterprise: 10 a month or 120 a year. “Free usage credits are included in subscription plans for the first 12 months of the account’s lifetime only.”

Method: pandadoc.com/pricing rendered in a browser 13 Sep 2026, monthly and annual toggle both read, billing FAQ opened; the page returned 429 to plain fetches. Credit rules from support.pandadoc.com, three articles updated 24 Mar, 16 Apr and 22 Jul 2026. One usage credit is one document generated by Forms, Bulk Send, Automations or connectors. Derived: Business annual, one seat, year one $49 × 12 = $588 with 120 credits; year two at the same usage $588 + 120 × $2.00 = $828, an increase of $240 / $588 = 40.8% on the same plan.

3. Price events

25 Mar 2025Per-document charging for Forms-generated documents communicated to customers.PandaDoc’s own reply on a BBB complaint dated 15 May 2026
by 16 Mar 2026Starter plan template quota set to five, applied to existing subscribers.2★ review, Trustpilot, 16 Mar 2026. Current Starter cap not verified
by 9 Apr 2026Forms use now requires purchased tokens mid-contract.2★ review, Trustpilot, 9 Apr 2026
by 16 Apr 2026Included usage credits stop after the account’s first 12 months.support.pandadoc.com, articles updated 24 Mar and 16 Apr 2026
by 24 Jul 2026$2 per document generated through Make.com on a plan that previously included it.1★ review, Trustpilot, 24 Jul 2026

Each event is dated by the earliest source that mentions it. The per-unit fee is not published in the help centre; the pricing page states the additional-document rates above.

4. Reviews

Trustpilot688 reviews2.2 shown5★ 61%, 4★ 9%, 3★ 3%, 2★ 3%, 1★ 24%
Capterra1,258 reviews4.5 shownValue for money 4.3
GetApp1,258 reviews (same corpus)4.5 shown5★ 797, 4★ 349, 3★ 77, 2★ 17, 1★ 18
G2403 on every URL. Not read.
Better Business Bureau38 complaints in 3 yearsA+, not accredited7 closed in the last 12 months

“They now require an additional USD 2 for every document I generate automatically via Make.com, which was previously included in my subscription.”

1★ · 24 Jul 2026 · trustpilot.com/review/pandadoc.com

“Now, when we use the Forms feature for that purpose, we have to purchase tokens... It wasn’t communicated until after the fact, and even though we have an annual commitment that we’re in the middle of, our costs are now different.”

2★ · 9 Apr 2026 · trustpilot.com/review/pandadoc.com

Read: Trustpilot 1★ and 2★ pages first, 42 of 688. Capterra 25 of 1,258, default view only; no 1★ or 2★ review reachable there. BBB 10 of 38. Trustpilot’s displayed histogram computes to (5 × 0.61) + (4 × 0.09) + (3 × 0.03) + (2 × 0.03) + (1 × 0.24) = 3.80 against a displayed 2.2; confirmed on two fetches, not reconciled. Low-star share: Trustpilot 27%, GetApp (18 + 17) / 1,258 = 2.8%.

Vendor replies to negatives: Trustpilot’s own panel states “Hasn’t replied to negative reviews”; the last replies seen date from January 2023. On BBB, PandaDoc replies, and the 10 read are individually written.

5. Category

Category sizeCapterra “Best Digital Signature Software”: 482 products. “Best Proposal Management Software”: 282. Overlap not measured.
Rank by Capterra reviewsNot in the page-one top ten. Docusign 9,477 (4.7), Box 5,647, Adobe Acrobat 4,260, Jotform 2,924, Xodo Sign 2,834, SignWell 2,713. PandaDoc 1,258.
Largest company’s shareDocusign 9,477 / 33,877 = 28.0% of the page-one top ten. PandaDoc 1,258 / 33,877 = 3.7%.
Rivals with per-document feesDocusign (per envelope, rate undisclosed), Proposify, Qwilr, Zoho Sign, SignWell (API “from $0.85 per API document”, not verified).
Flat-price rival existsYes: Documenso Platform $250 a month, unlimited users and documents, AGPL-3.0 open source. Break-even against Business annual: $250 / $49 = 5.1 seats. Also Xodo Sign API Light $50 a month for 50 API documents.

6. Sources

Taken from pandadoc.com/pricing, support.pandadoc.com, trustpilot.com/review/pandadoc.com, capterra.com, getapp.com and bbb.org. All read 13 Sep 2026. Full list in the dossier.

7. Read on

13 September 2026. G2, Google Play, Chrome Web Store, HubSpot Marketplace and Crunchbase not read (403 or blocked). Internet Archive offline, so no dated pricing snapshots.

Thinwedge’s reading. Investigate. The per-document metering is verified from the vendor’s own pricing page and the 12-month credit expiry from its own help centre, which is the cleanest “cannot cut” mechanism in either card: the fee is now the renewal-year revenue. The category leader holds 28% of top-ten reviews, so no dominance penalty, but the category has 482 listed products and a flat-priced open-source rival already undercuts Business above five seats. The mismatch between Trustpilot’s 27% low-star share and Capterra’s 2.8% is the number to understand before anything is built.

Found in the reviews

TeamUp

Gym and fitness studio management. goteamup.com. Read 13 September 2026.

Four years after a private-equity-backed buyer took TeamUp over, seven of the one-star reviews read since July 2025 have no reply.

  • “We will never use them ever again - every since they were bought out they lost their soul. I urge everyone to find a different platform.”

    1★ review, Trustpilot, 25 Jun 2026, 1,386 days after the acquisition

  • Three replies to negative reviews were posted on one day, 11 April 2025, between 42 and 126 days after the reviews.

    trustpilot.com, read 13 Sep 2026

  • Its member app on Google Play shows 1.2 stars across 109 reviews.

    play.google.com, read 13 Sep 2026

Open all seven sections

1. What it does

“Flexible fitness studio registration and management software to strengthen your business.” Class scheduling, memberships, payments through the customer’s own Stripe or GoCardless account, a member booking app, a $99-a-month branded app. Founded 2011 by the vendor’s footer, 2012 by its press release. Acquired by DaySmart, announced 8 September 2022, price not disclosed. DaySmart is a portfolio company of LLR Partners (recapitalisation October 2019) with Parthenon Capital.

goteamup.com, llrpartners.com/daysmart-acquires-teamup, llrpartners.com/portfolio-company/daysmart, 13 Sep 2026. Current leadership not verified; the about page returns 404.

2. Price as published

One plan, metered on active customers a month. “An active customer is someone who has a registration or purchases something from your business during the month.” Unlimited locations, no setup fee, no contract. Branded app add-on $99 a month. No percentage fee of TeamUp’s own on payments.

0 to 100 active customers$119 / month£99, €99
101 to 200$189£139, €149
201 to 300$219£179, €189
301 to 400$249£209, €229
401 to 500$289£249, €279
501 and up$379£299, €329

Method: goteamup.com/pricing rendered in a browser 13 Sep 2026, customer-count control stepped through all six positions in USD, GBP and EUR. Derived: crossing from 100 to 101 active customers is $189 − $119 = $70 a month more, a 58.8% step for one customer. Per active customer: $119 / 100 = $1.19 at 100, $189 / 101 = $1.87 at 101, $379 / 501 = $0.76 at 501.

3. Price events

8 Sep 2022Acquired by DaySmart.llrpartners.com, 8 Sep 2022
by 3 May 2023“Increase rates and prices without notifying you.”3★ review, Capterra, 3 May 2023
9 Sep 2025New “TeamUp Member Booking” app shipped; the old “TeamUp Members” app last updated 27 Oct 2025, 48 days later.itunes.apple.com lookup, ids 6740145491 and 1449504627, 13 Sep 2026
by 17 Feb 2026“Our subscription fees were increased abruptly, with no grandfathering clause or prior discussion.” Vendor reply two days later: “Price increases do need to happen occasionally.”1★ review and vendor reply, Trustpilot, 17 and 19 Feb 2026

No dated price-change announcement exists on any vendor page. Magnitude and date of any rise: not verified.

4. Reviews

Trustpilot68 reviews2.6 shown5★ 51, 4★ 4, 3★ 0, 2★ 0, 1★ 13
Capterra, GetApp, Software Advice346 reviews (one corpus)4.8 shown5★ 288, 4★ 54, 3★ 4, 2★ 0, 1★ 0
Google Play, member app109 reviews, 50k+ downloads1.2 shownHistogram not recoverable
Apple App Store, GB69 ratings2.38 shownReview bodies not served by the feed
G2403 on every URL. Not read.

“We will never use them ever again - every since they were bought out they lost their soul. I urge everyone to find a different platform.”

1★ · 25 Jun 2026 · trustpilot.com/review/goteamup.com · 1,386 days after the acquisition

“I hate this new update to the app, it’s so awkward having to scroll down through all the classes of the day and it’s tiny font to see what’s on for the day and whether you’re booked on. the previous app was much quicker and easier to use”

1★ · 11 Nov 2025 · play.google.com, teamup.customer.v2 · 63 days after the new app shipped

Read: Trustpilot 1★ page first, 12 of the 13 displayed; no 2★ reviews exist. Capterra 25 of 346, none below 3★ exist there. Google Play 3 of 109, all 1★, the rest load on scroll. Apple 0. The two corpora describe the same product 2.2 stars apart; not explained. One Trustpilot 1★ (6 Oct 2025) describes jerseys and is likely misdirected.

Vendor replies to negatives: Trustpilot’s own panel says “Replies to 20% of negative reviews” and “Typically replies within 24 hours”. Of the 12 read, 4 have replies; three of those were posted on one day, 11 April 2025, at 126, 74 and 42 days after the review, signed “Tim”, same structure. The fourth, 19 Feb 2026, came in 2 days, signed “OG, Support Manager”, and is specific. Seven 1★ reviews from 31 Jul 2025 to 25 Jun 2026 have no reply. No status page, no published SLA, no support hours on the help centre.

5. Category

Category sizeCapterra “Gym Management Software”: 204 products.
Rank by Capterra reviews11th, 346 reviews, 10 behind ABC Glofox at 10th. Vagaro 3,654 (4.7), My PT Hub 3,206, Mindbody 2,994 (4.0). TeamUp’s 4.8 is joint-highest of the eleven.
Largest company’s shareVagaro 3,654 / 15,121 = 24.2% of the top ten. TeamUp 346 / 3,654 = 9.5% of the leader.
RivalsOf 14 named, 7 are PE-owned or acquired (Mindbody, Glofox, Zen Planner, Mariana Tek, Gymdesk, ClubReady, TeamUp). 6 charge their own percentage on payments; TeamUp does not. Entry prices: Arketa $49, Gymdesk $75, Wellyx $99, Zen Planner $99, Wodify $99, PushPress $159, Kenko $399. Mindbody “from £89 per location”.
Flat-price rival existsYes: Wellyx $99 “unlimited members, no per-member fees”; PushPress and Kenko flat per plan.

6. Sources

Taken from goteamup.com/pricing, trustpilot.com/review/goteamup.com, capterra.com, play.google.com, itunes.apple.com and llrpartners.com. All read 13 Sep 2026. Full list in the dossier.

7. Read on

13 September 2026. G2 and Crunchbase 403. No pre-acquisition negative reviews exist on Trustpilot, so reply rate before and after the acquisition cannot be compared. CAD prices exist on the currency control but were not read.

Thinwedge’s reading. Investigate, on a review signal rather than a pricing one. The acquisition is dated from the acquirer’s own page and the one explicit “bought out” review lands three years and nine months later; the app migration in September 2025 is what the recent complaints attack. Support is not collapsed but it is batched: a backlog cleared on one day, then eleven months of silence. Two corpora disagree by 2.2 stars and that gap is the first thing to resolve. Category leader at 24%, so no dominance penalty, and half the rivals are PE-owned too, which is the market’s shape rather than TeamUp’s weakness. The pricing here is not the wedge: no take-rate, month to month, and an entry price in the middle of the field.

How a category gets read.

  1. 1

    Read

    Marketplace reviews, starting with Atlassian and WordPress.org. When the reviews show a pricing complaint, the vendor’s pricing page is read in a real browser to confirm and date it.

    So far: 58,353 reviews read, counted at 18:03 UTC, 16 September 2026.

  2. 2

    Score

    Seven factors decide where a vendor ranks, from how much money moves through it to whether the vendor is able to respond. The score stays off the card; the reading under it names the factor that decided it.

  3. 3

    Rank

    Cards ordered by score, a category at a time, each dated with when it was read.

What it costs from 3 October.

The price you sign at is the price you keep.

Category report
£99 once
One category, every vendor scored, the top 10 cards in full, CSV and PDF, 30 days of updates.
Scout
£49 a month
Two sources, 30 cards a month, 5 vendors followed, export.
Studio
£149 a month
All sources, unlimited cards, 50 vendors followed, an alert when a new rival lists at $10 or under, one report a month.

The first category report lands 3 October 2026.

Leave an address for the launch notice, then one card a week with its sources printed under it.

The launch notice, then one card a week. One email a week at most, with an unsubscribe link in every one.